Nollywood Screenwriting Contest kicks-off, Segun Arinze, Other Veterans named as Judges (Details)

Filmmaking company, Aforevo has said that its recently launched screen writer’s competition is aimed at empowering promising screenwriters.

According to the organiser, Lawrence Onuzulike, Nollywood Screenwriting Contest (NSWC) will empower screenwriters, who partake in the competition with a star prize of One million naira to be won.

Onuzulike noted that empowerment doesn’t stop at winning the money. He also assured that the winning script would be made into a Nollywood movie with a one-year scriptwriting contract with Aforevo.

Nollywood screenwriting contest was created to reward hard-working screen screenwriters and highlight the vital roles they play in film making. In Nollywood, there’s this overall feeling that screenwriters, despite playing very important roles in film making, are not being well recognized and rewarded in the Nigerian film industry”, said Onuzulike.

He continues: “Consequently, Nollywood Screenwriting Contest (NSWC) is geared towards correcting that by bringing to the fore the vital roles played by screenwriters in movie production and in the film industry as a whole.

“The media campaign and the razzmatazz that will surround the contest will not only shed light on screenwriters but will also make them the point of focus for once in an industry often dominated by actors, directors, and producers. This is one of its kinds of a project and has never been done on this scale in Nigeria.”

The winner goes home with the star prize of N1million and the winning script will be made into a blockbuster Nollywood movie including a one-year scriptwriting contract with Aforevo.

For the first runner up, it is N500,000 while the second runner up goes home with N300,000. Other consolation prizes include 100 Afrorevo T-Shirts and caps.

To qualify, participants must submit the first twenty scenes from their scripts after which judges shall choose the best 20 submissions.

The owners of the selected submissions shall be required to submit between100 to 135 scenes of their works after which the judges shall choose the three best scripts. Submission opened on February 7th and will close on March 4 while prizes shall be presented to winners on March 8.

Judges include veteran actress, Clarion Chukwura, Segun Arinze, Victor Okhai, president DGN, and Yinka Ogun, President SWGN.

For interested participants, they are to visit for more info on how to submit.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *